illuminate history

Curiosity: forget “Cherchez la femme” (Look for the woman.) “Cherchez l’histoire.” (Look for the story.)

stay tuned–again…

PBOI was brought just about full circle, a little less than two weeks, ago by a surprising email forwarded to me by the Operations Manager of Portland Baroque Orchestra.

“What on earth does PBO have to do with it?”

You may well ask. It’s that ‘social media’ thing that everyone keeps talking and writing about.

I looked for opportunities to publicize Reflections of a Civil War Locomotive Engineer as soon as I managed to get it published. The most obvious was the on-going, multi-year sesquicentennial observation of the US Civil War. So I worked up a couple of articles and presentations on a brilliant engineer of railroading–in the planning sense, not running controls in the locomotive like my great-grandfather–Herman Haupt. Haupt developed several truly remarkable innovations that had a direct impact on my great-grandfather’s experience as a young Canadian coming to down to fill in for US railroad men who’d fulfilled their three year commitment and were wanted back to work on civilian railroads they’d left to serve on the military railroad.

The surprising email came from a researcher Woodcut mediaat a relatively new TV production operation in the UK who are now embarking on a series called “Combat Trains”. She’d somehow found me and my website/blog by searching for “Herman Haupt.” Then she’d looked me up on Facebook and learned that I’m on the Board of Portland Baroque Orchestra. So she went to the Orchestra website to find a phone number. Andrea, our Operations Manager, told me that she responded to Olivia the same way she responds to others who call asking for Monica Huggett’s phone number: “Send an email and I’ll forward it to her. If she’s interested, she’ll get in touch.”

Well, I am interested. I got in touch. I sent Olivia documentation on just about everything I know about Herman Haupt. They will be in the US the first two weeks of June, filming at Gettysburg, PA; Petersburg, VA; and Atlanta, GA.  Olivia will phone me directly the day after tomorrow to discuss details of how I may participate in the filming.

2 comments on “stay tuned–again…

  1. dianhilliard
    May 4, 2015

    Congratulations! This just proves, if someone wants to find you they can ! I think this shows just how important it is to keep your name out there, as you do so well ! Good Luck !

  2. Joella Werlin
    May 4, 2015

    “Only connect” — E M Forster (“Howard’s End”) Your ingenuity is remarkable.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 3, 2015 by in Writing and tagged , , , .
