illuminate history

Curiosity: forget “Cherchez la femme” (Look for the woman.) “Cherchez l’histoire.” (Look for the story.)

Now receiving visitors…

Adele in her new home

With no fanfare, Adele is finally ensconced in her new home: the American Gallery of the Portland Art Museum. Her installation was originally scheduled in mid-November, after an introductory lecture by the chief curator. Unfortunately, he developed severe laryngitis and could not speak. I checked in early December, but she hadn’t yet been installed.

Then, last Thursday, a friend with whom I practice reading Italian wrote: “Ho visto Adele oggi! Sembrava a casa;” which means “I saw Adele today! She seemed right at home.” Yes, indeed she does. museum label

The official label is nicely in place, too.

I admired her for a few minutes before taking a couple of photos.  No one else was in the gallery. I saw a custodian as I left–and I had to talk to someone. So I told Ted how impatiently we had waited to see Adele in the museum. He said he was enjoying looking at her and was very happy to learn a little more about who she was. The really funny thing is that Ted grew up in New York and his brother graduated from the State University of NY at Plattsburgh–which is where Adele grew up.

He suggested that  I talk to the editors of the Museum’s Portal magazine about writing a little profile on this new member of the Museum family. I assured him that I’d already thought of doing just that and thanked him for his encouragement.

If you missed them, my October and November posts tell more of my recent discoveries about Adele’s life and explain how she became the inspiration for me to begin writing my first novel. I’ve done three chapters and can’t wait to get back to work.

4 comments on “Now receiving visitors…

  1. Dian Hilliard
    January 18, 2014

    Oh she looks wonderful !! I can’t wait to see her again. I personally think the stories behind paintings should be shared more often. I’m not sure all of them would be as interesting as Adele though.

  2. Pat Meyer
    January 19, 2014

    So VERY impressive, Diana! You must have felt like you had given birth to another child when you saw it there in the museum!

  3. Ed Sherlock
    January 19, 2014

    I am related to Adele, as her older sister married my great grandfather. I would love to know more about this painting and how it came to be created.

  4. Stephanie
    January 19, 2014

    My ancestor related to my grandfather Edward Anderson
    Thanks Diana

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 18, 2014 by in Portland Art Museum and tagged , , .
