illuminate history

Curiosity: forget “Cherchez la femme” (Look for the woman.) “Cherchez l’histoire.” (Look for the story.)

Museum PR

Engines of war: Authors complement RR museum’s Civil War exhibit is the title of Stephen Klopfinger’s article in yesterday’s lancasteronline  ( http://lancasteronline.com/article/local/683016_Engines-of-war.html ). His objective, of course, is to promote the museum event next Saturday, which I’ve mentioned before.

He said he plans to attend the event; I hope so. I look forward to asking him “How did you decide to spend nearly half your word count on my book?”

Actually, I think he liked the book. He wrote: “Harris’ tale is more sweeping, encompassing war, peace and family dysfunction. And, yes, lots of trains. It’s an account of the life of her great-grandfather, one John Bailey, who ran engines during the Civil War.”

Just this morning I finished–that is to say, simply stopped tweaking– and then submitted a piece for the pending Chicken Soup for the Soul collection called Independent Woman. My story is called Learning ‘Chutzpah’.

Now I need to wrap up my presentation and start packing my suitcase!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 9, 2012 by in Civil War, Railroad, US History, Writing and tagged , .
