illuminate history

Curiosity: forget “Cherchez la femme” (Look for the woman.) “Cherchez l’histoire.” (Look for the story.)

Multitasking

Honest, I’m not complaining, it’s interesting the way one thing leads to another: write & self-publish a book –> become publicist –> write & submit other pieces for publication & make presentations to increase interest in book already published –> etc., etc.

The Railroad Museum of PA ordered another 20 copies (that’s 44, so far.) The Transport Museum of St. Louis ordered 12.

Deborah Reddig, director of programs at the Railroad Museum of PA, asked me to send a review copy of Reflections to Jo-Ann Greene, book editor for the Lancaster Newspapers, which I did

A couple of days ago, Stephen Kopfinger, correspondent with the Sunday News in Lancaster, Pa requested a phone interview. We spoke on Thursday morning. He’d read and enjoyed the book. I trust I did not make a complete fool of myself answering his thoughtful questions. I’ll post the link to the published interview when it appears on July 8.

Meanwhile, I’ve met several people through Oregon Writers Colony who are interested in forming a critique group. I submitted a piece for the  Food Memoir and Recipe Contest at womensmemoirs.com . And I’m just about to ready to submit a piece to chickensoup.com for their anthology on Independent Woman.

I am working on–but have not finished–my presentation on Herman Haupt at the Battle of Gettysburg. Again I find history fascinating in the detail. I am indebted to Scott L. Mingus, Sr.–another of the three authors and one artist who will be at the Railroad Museum of PA on July 14–for his fascinating account of  the Confederate Army advance north into Pennsylvania, then east past Gettysburg to Wrightsville. There, 151 years ago today,  Pennsylvania militia burned the longest (5,629 ft.) covered bridge in the world, which turned the Confederate Army back toward Gettysburg…  

Herman Haupt and his West Point classmate, George Meade were not directly involved in this famous segment of the War until almost the last minute.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 29, 2012 by in Biography, Civil War, Railroad, US History, Writing.
