illuminate history

Curiosity: forget “Cherchez la femme” (Look for the woman.) “Cherchez l’histoire.” (Look for the story.)

no stone unturned

So, I joined “Submission Bombers” & was bombarded by broadcast appeals to submit poetry, fiction, non-fiction, whatever–it seemed–to A-minor .

I complied & about as fast as “Mail Delivery Subsystem” bounces back an incorrect email address, I had this reply from Nicolette Wong:

Dear Diana

Thank you for sending “Army Daughters.”

We appreciate the chance to read it. Unfortunately, it is not a good fit for A-Minor.

We would also appreciate your reporting our response time to Duotrope. It keeps the magazine going.

Again I complied, discovering at  Duotrope  an intriguing, annotated list of publications that accept non-fiction submissions.

I’m never going to be 21 again, and I’m never going to write “raw & gritty.” Nevertheless, I managed to compress my already consolidated  version of two pieces about snorkeling that I posted here in March and April (2375 words–which I had submitted to the Willamette Writers Kay Snow contest in April) into 989 words, & submitted it to Burner Magazine for their September Trips issue. Fat chance–but at least it hasn’t bounced back yet.

I sent Shallows from Above as a snail-mail submission for Creative Nonfiction’s June 4 call for pieces about Australia. They sent a nice note saying they’d received it.  I submitted something completely different–Mid-life Dating Game— to the OWC  short story contest in May.

Then, after missing the chance to talk to my friend Linda Atwell at Tuesday’s Willamette Writers meeting, we connected via email & I learned that her delightful piece Adopting Arthur was an April contest winner at womensmemoirs. Now I’m thinking maybe I can submit a piece about my grandmother Emma & lebkuchen for their food memoir & recipe contest.

Meanwhile, I need to get busy and finish my presentation on  Herman Haupt at the Battle of Gettysburg.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 9, 2012 by in Writing and tagged .
