illuminate history

Curiosity: forget “Cherchez la femme” (Look for the woman.) “Cherchez l’histoire.” (Look for the story.)

Back at work

Nearly forty years ago I cold-called personnel departments throughout Santa Clara County—before it was called Silicon Valley; now I am cold-calling history professors across the state of Oregon and beyond. My current goal: to have my book included in supplementary reading lists for courses like US History After 1865, The Rise of American Technology, American Family History.

And there’s an Author Fair at Atkinson Memorial Church, 710 Sixth St, Oregon City this coming Saturday, May 5. The good news is that UPrinting.com sent an attractive email offer for 250 cards, printed on both sides, just as I was about to see whether Office Depot sells postcard-size photo paper that is shiny on both sides, so I could print professional-looking flyers instead of the quite tacky glued-together version I just ran out of.

I managed to up-load both sides of the card, enter my credit card number, and thought the transaction was complete. But another option popped up: would I like a “free” 15″x36″ banner, too? I thought a banner might be just the thing to duct-tape to the front edge of my table at the author fair.

So, I up-loaded an image for that, too. The banner was free, but there was an additional shipping charge. That makes sense. Somehow in the process, I managed to enter a second order for 250 postcards. I realized my mistake the next day and cancelled it.

Long story short: cards and banner arrived in good order. I have the requisite 15 copies of the book on hand. I’m ready for Saturday.

Infiltrating academia is an entirely different proposition. The two professors with whom I have spoken were not themselves interested in my book, of course, but they offered practical suggestions. This subject is definitely ‘to be continued.’

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 30, 2012 by in US History, Writing.
